New Rural Bushfire Service

Following the bushfires that destroyed the town of Yarloop in January, the State Government has established a Rural Fire Service.

Premier Colin Barnett has said that the new service will take some time to implement. The decision whether the Government will be a standalone department or sit within DFES is likely to be made before the March election although it may take longer. It will not be in place by the coming summer. 

The Rural Bushfire Servie will be incorporating volunteer fire brigades, who have practical experience and local knowledge. The President of the Association of Volunteer Bushfire Brigades, Dave Gossage, supports the service and wants the Government to ensure it is fully independent.  Liberal MP, Murray Cowper, whose electorate includes Yarloop, Harvey and Waroona, also encourages an independent department, to be based in Pinjarra. 

Draft Development Control Policy 2.2- Residential Subdivision

Changes have been made to the Development Control Policy 2.2 - Residential Subdivision and the WAPC is asking for public comment.

Read full article

Whiteman Park Strategic Plan

The final Whiteman Park Strategic Plan 2017 - 2021 is now available to view. The plan will guide the future of Whiteman Park, defining the park's role, activities and boundaries.

Read full article

WA Coastal Awards for Excellence

Nominations are now open for the 2017 WA Coastal Awards for Excellence. Nominations can be for community groups, organisations or individuals.

Read full article

View archive